6.827 Multithreaded Parallelism: Languages and Compilers Fall-2006


Top
Course Info
Staff
Announcements
Syllabus
Handouts
Problem Sets
Bluespec
Links
M.I.T
C.S.A.I.L.
6.827 Fall 2006 Syllabus

This syllabus is subject to change at any time. Please refer to this page for the most up-to-date information.  

All course handouts are in Adobe PDF format unless otherwise noted.


 

Schedule 6.827 Fall 2006
Date Lecture Handouts Readings
Thu Sep 7 L01 - Expressing Parallel Computation   pH Book 1,2
Hudak, A Gentle Intro to Haskell
Lambda Calculus, Types, and Functional Languages
Tue Sep 12 L02(FL1) - Functional Programming   pH Book. Appendix A
Thu Sep 14 L03(FL2) - The Lambda Calculus   pH Book 4
Tue Sep 19 L04(FL3) - Lambda Calculus with Lets PS 1 Cardelli, Simple Polymorphic Typechecking
Thu Sep 21 L05(FL4) - Simple Types   pH Book 3
Tue Sep 26 L06(FL5) - Hindley-Milner Types   pH Book 3
Thu Sep 28 L07(FL6) - Overloading, and Algebraic Types (Pellauer)   pH Book 5,6.1-6.3
Tue Oct 03 L08(FL7) - List Comprehensions PS 2 pH Book 6.4-6.7
Thu Oct 05 L09(FL8) - Desugaring: List Comprehensions and Pattern Matching   pH Book 7
Thu Oct 12 L10(SE1) - I Structures and Open Lists   pH Book 9
Tue Oct 17 Quiz 1    
SideEffects and Parallelism
Thu Oct 19 L11(SE2) M-Structures (I)   pH Book 10
Tue Oct 24 L12(SE3) M-Structures (II)   pH Book Appendix B
Thu Oct 26 L13(SE4) - Monads and Monadic I/O   Newbern, All About Monads
pH Book 8
Atomic Actions / Transaction
Tue Oct 31 L14(T1) - Bluespec: A Language of Guarded Atomic Actions    
Thu Nov 02 L15(T2) - Bluespec: A Two-level language PS 3  
Tue Nov 07 L16(T3) - Transactional Programming (I)    
Thu Nov 09 L17(T4) - Transactional Programming    
Tue Nov 14 L18(T5) - Transactions in Haskell   Discolo, et. al., Lock Free Data Structures using STM in Haskell
Thu Nov 16 Quiz 2    
Tue Nov 21 L19 - Integration of Models (I)    
Dataflow
Tue Nov 28 L20(DF1) - DataFlow (I)    
Nov 30 L21(DF2) - DataFlow (II)    
Tue Dec 05 L22(DF3) - Translating FL into DataFlow    
Thu Dec 07 L23(DF4) - Integration of Models (II)    
Tue Dec 12 Quiz 3 or Project Presentations