Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory
32-866, The Stata Center, MIT
32 Vassar St, Cambridge, MA  02139
Phone: +1 (617) 253-6090; Fax: +1 (617) 253 6652;

Email: arvind at mit dot edu

Arvind is the Johnson Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a member of CSAIL (Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory). From 1974 to 1978, prior to coming to MIT, he taught at the University of California, Irvine. Arvind received his M.S. and Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Minnesota in 1972 and 1973, respectively. He received his B. Tech. in Electrical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, in 1969, and also taught there from 1977-78.

Arvind's current research interests are synthesis and verification of large digital systems described using Guarded Atomic Actions; and Memory Models and Cache Coherence Protocols for parallel architectures and languages.

In the past, Arvind's research interests have included all aspects of parallel computing and declarative programming languages. He has contributed to the development of dynamic dataflow architectures, the implicitly parallel programming languages Id and pH, and the compilation of these types of languages on parallel machines. Dr. R. S. Nikhil and Arvind published the book "Implicit parallel programming in pH" in 2001.

In 1992, Arvind's group, in collaboration with Motorola, completed the Monsoon dataflow machine and its associated software. A dozen of these machines were built and installed at Los Alamos National Labs and other universities, before Monsoon was retired to the Computer Museum in California.

In 2000, Arvind took a two-year leave of absence to start Sandburst, a fabless semiconductor company to produce a chip set for 10G-bit Ethernet routers. He served as its President until his return to MIT in September 2002. Sandburst was acquired by Broadcom in 2006. In 2003, Arvind co-founded Bluespec Inc, an EDA company to produce a set of tools for high-level synthesis, and serves on its board.

Arvind has served on the editorial board of many journals including the Journal of Parallel and Distributed Computing, and the Journal of Functional Programming. He has chaired and served on the program committee of many meetings sponsored by ACM and IEEE. From 1986-92, he was the Chief Technical Advisor for the UN sponsored Knowledge Based Computer Systems project in India. During 1992-93 Arvind was the Fujitsu Visiting Professor at the University of Tokyo.  Arvind managed the Nokia-CSAIL research collaboration from 2006-2010. Since 2009, Arvind is also WCU (World Class University) Distinguished Professor at the Seoul National University.

Arvind has delivered more than hundred keynote and distinguished lectures.


2012 IEEE Computer Society Harry H. Goode Memorial Award Winner - video, video 2
American Association of Arts and Sciences, Member (2012)
IEEE Computer Society Harry Goode Memorial Award (2012)
Outstanding Achievement Award, University of Minnesota (2008)
National Academy of Engineering, Member (2008)
ACM – Fellow (2007)
Distinguished Alumnus Award, University of Minnesota (2001)
Distinguished Alumnus Award, I.I.T. Kanpur (1999)
IEEE Charles Babbage Outstanding Scientist Award (1994).
IEEE – Fellow (1994)

Salient Recent Publications

      • Asif Khan, Muralidaran Vijayaraghavan and Arvind, “A general technique for deterministic model-cycle-level debugging” In Proceedings of the MEMOCODE 10, Arlington, VA, July 16-17, 2012
      • Asif Khan, Muralidaran Vijayaraghavan, Silas Boyd-Wickizer and Arvind, “Fast and Cycle-Accurate Modeling of a Multicore Processor”, in Proceedings of International Symposium on Performance Analysis of Systems and Software (ISPASS 2012), New Brunswick, NJ, April 1-3, 2012
      • Myron King, Nirav Dave, and Arvind, “Automatic Generation of Hardware/Software Interfaces”  in Proceedings of Architectural Support for Programming Languages and Operating Systems (ASPLOS 2012), London, UK, March 5-7, 2012
      • K. Fleming, M. Adler, M. Pellauer, A. Parashar, Arvind and J. Emer, “Leveraging Latency-Insensitivity to Ease Multiple FPGA Design”, in Proceedings of the International Symposium on Field-Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGA 2012), Monterey, CA, February 22-24, 2012
      • Sungjin Lee, Jihoon Park, Kermin Fleming, Arvind, Jihong Kim, “Improving Performance and Lifetime of Solid-state Drives Using Hardware-acceleratedCompression”, IEEE Transactions on Consumer Electronics, Vol 57, No 4, November 2011.
      • Nirav Dave, Michael Katelman, Myron King, Arvind, and Jose Meseguer, “Verification of Microarchitectural Refinements in Rule-based Systems”, In Proceedings of the MEMOCODE 9, Cambridge, UK, July 11-13, 2011
      • Man Cheuk Ng, Kermin Elliott Fleming and  Arvind, “WiLIS: Architectural Modeling of Wireless Systems”, In Proceedings of International Symposium on Performance Analysis of Systems and Software (ISPASS 2011),Austin, TX, April 10-12, 2011
      • Man Cheuk Ng, Kermin Elliott Fleming, Mythili Vutukuru, Samuel Gross, Arvind, and Hari Balakrishnan, “Layering for Cross-Layer Wireless Protocols”, In Proceedings of Architectures for Networking and Communications Systems (ANCS 2010), San Diego, CA, October 25-26, 2010. ( Best paper award)
      • Abhinav Agarwal, Man Cheuk Ng, and Arvind “A Comparative Evaluation of High-Level Hardware Synthesis Using Reed-Solomon Decoder”, IEEE ESL Journal, Vol 2, Issue 3, September 2010.
      • Nirav Dave, Man Cheuk Ng, Michael Pellauer, and Arvind “A Design Flow Based on Modular Refinement”, In Proceedings of the MEMOCODE 8, Grenoble, France, July 24-28, 2010

Other Events, Talks, Papers

Princeton Convocation Address - 2014

Norman C. Dahl
Memorial Celebration
CSG Publications
Bluespec Publications
CSG Photos
ISCA Keynote Talk
pdf version
Dataflow: Passing the Token
June 6, 2005, Madison, WI
ISCA 06 Paper
Memory Model = Instruction Reordering + Store Atomicity (Arvind, Jan-Willem Maessen)
IITK Campaign
IEEE Article - 10/06
A Mobile Phone Ecosystem: MIT and Nokia's Joint Research Venture